Skip to content

People I’d Like to Meet

December 24, 2015

It’s Christmas EvE here… OK that was unexpected… Christmas Eve here and have just exchanged holiday greetings with Hermit. Kind of putting off wrapping of presents coz there is a truck ton of them to do.

And a truck ton of wrapping necessitates a truck ton of procrastination imho. Especially given the carefully crafted wrapping gets annihilatedΒ  within .5 of a second once in the grasp of its recipient…

Ahem. Anyways, and with procrastination dialled up to 11, I was thinking about the various people in game that I’d really like to meet in RL. If I’m very careful, and my employment situation remains stable, I have a chance to make Fanfest in 2018 in my 10th year of playing EvE.

These people in one way or another have been part of the community I’ve engaged with. Sometimes as a silent consumer to be fair. But still, interesting folks in any case imho, and it would be grand if RL conspired to allow it to happen at FF.

In no particular order:

EvE Hermit – at least we live in the same hemisphere πŸ™‚

Mynxee – yes you, Great Lady. Enjoy the fireworks.

Ashterothi and the crew at Hydrostatic Podcast

Random McNally and the crew at High Drag

Apothne (hulll tinkerrrrrrrr!) and the rest of the AT commentary team.

Roc Wieler – The Colonel and I agree about many things, others that might require a considerable amount of discussion just to find out we agree about many things… πŸ™‚

Neville Smit – a man whose brain I would love to pick. No not for the transneural skill packets… honestly…

CCP Seagull – if for no other reason than a chance to say Thank You.

Turamarth – Builder of soapboxes, holder of opinions, and a good man.

 

Now I know I’ve missed people and that it’s going to bug me. I have a fairly extensive subscription list, and while it would be wonderful to meet all of you, I just CBA typing everyone’s names out right now.

In any case, this is a small thanks from me for your contributions to the community as a whole, and a chance to wish you all a very Merry Christmas.

 

Travel Safe,

 

H

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

15 Comments
  1. -K- permalink

    what… so the most important person doesn’t even get an honorable mention? I mean come on, seriously…. you’ve only met what, one? of my personalities! πŸ˜›

    Merry Christmas Spirits to you!

    PS:- I have the knowing of the secrets of wrapping awkwardly shaped objects πŸ˜‰

    • Give it to the shop assistants to do? πŸ˜›

      Merry Christmas K πŸ™‚

    • P.S Best present that I found so far – a minion fart gun. My Brother in law and sister might never forgive me…. πŸ™‚

      • -K- permalink

        No… better than that even, I’ll send pictures later πŸ˜›

        I got one of the twins a sound effects machine for their birthday, complete with burps, farts, drum rolls and danger music… he promptly took it to school, Took a while before the teachers would talk to me again but he loved it!

        Winner of the day here as always is Nerf, boys do love their Christmas ordnance! Though the future ruler of the universe has also already built a radio from components this morning. His Nemesis has gone super oldschool and is having fun with an actual Spirograph.

        You’ll get your present when you log in πŸ˜‰

      • Is there a wild K on the loose? Will EvE cope? More importantly, will we..?

  2. -K- permalink

    Its been nearly 2 years… have to remember how to fly first and try to catch up on all the changes… but I’m under heavy Nerf fire while building Lego right now so won’t be on till later

    • Heading back out ot see my boy shortly, then straight onto a nightshift. Actually, I have another tomorrow night too, but then some time off. Coordination. It shall happens!

      • -K- permalink

        let me know if you ever have a few days in a row and we shall make it happens, snorgle the fuzzy head for me.

        oh and new record assembling Lego Helicopter, woohoo go me!

      • Go you πŸ™‚

        Righto, I’m going to try and have my son overnight some time in the next few nights, but apart from that I is now a free agent!

        Shhh. Don’t let the Megacorps know πŸ˜‰

  3. OMG… I was mentioned… BY NAME!!!!! Fuck me but I am smiling from ear to ear like a fool.

    (This may get maudlin, it is very late xmass EVE, I have wrapped ALL the Santa presents and have been downing Kraken n Quafe Zeros and the occasional bar shot of (gold)’shlagger so you are duly warned…)

    I love you all.

    I swear it on the life of my children.

    I love each and every one of you… (told ya, maudlin…)

    And you Helena… you and Sugar and Dire and Hermit and Noisy and Mab and Kirith and Drakarn and so many others… and those still with us yet gone quiet… Tiger and Fiddler, my good good friend Scientist and the Robo Blogger himself himself… Jester… and so many others. I love you all.

    I wish each and everyone of you… and all of us who fly the deadly skies of New Eden… the best of all there is in life… thank you for being my people.

    A man’s worth is measured by those who call him friend… and you all, make my lives, both real and virtual, worth more than I can believe… thank you.

    And yes, by the gods and by Bob… if I can I WILL meet you in the real… one day… and lift a glass to this amazing shared life we live together.

    (Ima be SOooooooooooo embarassed later when I read this…)(shot anyone?) =]

    • -K- permalink

      shots! (as long as it ain’t tequila) I’ll drink to that!…oh wait already did…why is my glass empty again?

      • And hey, whats wrong with Tequila…?

        πŸ˜›

      • -K- permalink

        ahem… you are kidding right? Don’t tell me there is actually someone who DOESN’T know what happens when I drink Tequilla! Theres even a song about it! Do you actually have couple days off? Cause I was serious about getting on a plane you know!

    • Mate! Sorry it took so long to respond. I’ve been working nights and just haven’t been on.

      A drink? I think I’ll raise a bottle πŸ™‚

      Cheers Tur. May the next year be an absolulte blast πŸ™‚

  4. I hope you managed to finish your wrapping in time Helena, and got to enjoy a relaxed Christmas. Tur – why am I not surprised you are one of those people who remain nice with alcohol on board.

Leave a comment