Skip to content

A Few Of My Favourite Things

April 18, 2011

Blasters on Megas and remote repping Guardians
Bright shiny Zealots and hot drops on Mittens
Round nosed torpedoes about to go “ping”
These are a few of my favorite things

Green colored Ishkurs and quick warping Impels
Rockets and lasers and heavy assault missiles
Inty pilots flying with fire up to their wings
These are a few of my favorite things

Scans that show anoms, wormholes and plexes
Bombers and cloaking and T2 successes
Boosters that save you when Curses do spring
These are a few of my favorite things

When the blob strikes
When the bee stings
When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad….

OK – I’m tired. This is my second nightshift and I’m sure that the old brain cells are looking at reality from about 90deg different to normal. My excuse. Sticking to it. The following is stuff which are very much not my favorite things at present (or at the very least there is a very large withholding of judgment).

Time dilation and the letter from CSM 6. Who on earth do they think they’re kidding? Time dilation?!?!? It sounds very much like badly written 70’s science fiction TV especially when they couldn’t explain away something done in a previous episode. Would you like some Midichlorians with your tea dear?

I do like the premise behind it though, if you’ve got to nerf people, nerf everyone as equally as possible. But still. You didn’t really need to go straight to the mcguffin draw on that one CCP.

Now lets throw the Mittani into the mix. I’ve listened to a couple of podcasts, and I’ve read quite a few of the other posters about the place. There has been a perceptible yo-yoing in attitude towards our beloved chairperson in some cases. But colour me sceptical and call me a cynic, I’ve got a bad feeling about this.

There are two very large forces likely to collide in the future, one being the CSM and it’s very much aligned personnel. The other is CCP and it’s need to continue to run a business. The CSM appears to be determined to gain as much support from the player base as possible to enable them to “persuade” CCP to do what they want (or in the case of the player base and what the base wants- which view or views will be supported, and to the detriment of which others.?).

I’m actually wondering if it’s the potential for success, and the single mindedness of the null sec cadre which is at the heart of my concerns. What happens if they DO get to a point where the player base is beholden to them? What happens if the cult of personality means we have in essence a dictatorship, and one which has the potential power to put CCP in an untenable position business wise..? All the people belong to us now….

There was a real diversity in CSM 5, and it appeared that they were untied in a vision of overall improvement to the game. CSM 6… not so much. Time will tell I guess, and I’ll be very very happy to be wrong. We shall see.

Going to spend more time in null over the next wee while. Learning and killing and hopefully taking part in fun stuff.

Fly Smart,

H

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

