Skip to content

Coriolis Skillqueue

June 19, 2010

CrazyKinux (the glutton for punishment that he is) has started up a new blog banter:

On May 6th 2010, EVE Online celebrated its 7th Anniversary. Quite a milestone in MMO history, especially considering that it is one of the few virtual worlds out there to see its population continually grow year after year. For some of you who’ve been here since the very beginning, EVE has evolved quite a lot since its creation. With the expansion rolling out roughly twice a year, New Eden gets renewed and improved regularly. But, how about you the player? How has your gaming style evolved through the years or months since you’ve started playing? Have you always been a carebear, or roleplayer? Have you only focused on PvP or have you given other aspects of the game a chance – say manufacturing. Let’s hear your story!

My story starts with attempting to get into the game by totally ignoring the tutorials and was followed shortly thereafter with a bit of toy throwing and sheer petulance at not being able to figure out what should have (I thought) been simple things.

Little did I know then about the near vertical learning “curve” that EvE is so famous for. One of my mates convinced me to keep trying (X, I’m looking at YOU) and it did not take long for the bug to bite. You see, I found the Vexor and those lovely little pieces of firepower known as drones. Proceeded to max cruiser and drone skills and was running up to L3s in her using a combination of range and speed tanking. Hardcore carebearing here we go….

I am totally embarrassed to say that I had pretty severe gaps in my knowledge, probably the most heinous came when someone told me you can warp to zero on a gate. Warp to zero?!!? OMFG – how much time have I wasted?!?!?

Probably wouldn’t have died in low sec those first couple of times either… though I suspect now that one of those was due to having insufficient cap/nav skills and dropping out of warp agonisingly close to the gate with little or no capacitor whatsoever.

Then one day, I was hailed in local by Busti, who proceeded to invite me to the USNMC where I met some great bods. We did some hellagrinding to get peoples standings up quickly, and I had my first taste of what real firepower can bring to the field. You know, when ships are exploding all around you and you haven’t even resolved your target lock… o.0

Shipwise, I eventually managed to jump into a Dominix, but like many who get into their first battleship, both my support skills, and heavy and sentry drones were lacking. Lets just say that Enemies Abound L4 is a cruel, cruel mistress if you’re not ready for it. I can’t remember how many I lost. Two? Three? In the end, I enlisted help, and even then still had to warp out multiple times.

I don’t think I tried 5/5. That was the first taste of really how important fittings and support skills are. There was that and a bit of ship envy…. a mate of mine flew a Rokh, and could solo all except 5/5, and for the first time (and not the last), I really regretted focussing on Gallente ships.

Then came war and yet more lessons. We could field a truly impressive amount of firepower between us all, but without sufficient EWAR and fittings appropriate to counter it, we had real difficulty laying that power down. Special mention has to go to the little Vexor that (almost) could as a tackler. 20k in damage before finally popping due to some pretty good remote rep.

The war and our overall inability to match the enemy hit morale hard. That, some absences at critical times, and some internal politics meant an exodus by a lot of people. In the vacuum that followed and in a desire to put up a POS (at the time I considered it one of the real “end game” achievements), I created MIRV. As we were staying in touch with peeps, out of this came an invitation to join an alliance, and a move to null where yet more lessons were learned. Usually the hard way.

I started life as a wide-eyed and very noobish carebear. The evolution from there has been apparent in my skill queue which swirls around an endpoint I have not quite figured out yet. That in itself has not been the thing that has provided me teeth, it is more the awareness of how those skill are applied. Oh, and not being hesitant when it comes down to a fight.

Where to from here…? Exploring/intel gathering is still what I like to do, and I’m still focused on being as independent as possible. Missioning merely pays the bills… except when I do find the occasional shiny 🙂

My only regret with Eve is that there is no truly unexplored space. Where ever you go, someone will have been there, or currently is. I wish I could turn left at Jupiter, slingshot through the gravity well, and sail into the great unknown.

So, what about you? Have you evolved/devolved? Become addicted to the Yarr! Do you like pulling freshly baked BPCs out of the oven? Tell us. Go on…. share 🙂

H – mission runner/survivalist/ranger/part-time industrialist

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

